North Carolina School BusSafety Web
  safetyNC Resourcesvehicleslibrarycalendarmailing listsarchived newscontactsafety centerhome

Danny Reed, Rutherford, Richmond, & Duplin receive awards at NCPTA CONFERENCE


Danny Reed, Rutherford, Richmond, & Duplin receive awards at NCPTA CONFERENCE

Danny Reed from Beaufort County Schools wins again.  For the third time in seven years, Danny earned the top honor and $500.00 at the NC Best Bus Inspector Competition. He has previously won in 2010 & 2007. From a field of 12 finalists who inspected three “rigged” buses on a very hot day in Asheville NC, Danny emerged the top bus inspector in NC. Even with a newly developed (more challenging) written test designed to better prepare contestants for the nationals, Danny proved his superior ability above the rest of the pack.
Danny will once again represent his state at the NAPT competition in San Antonio Texas, where he will try for his 2nd NATIONAL championship. In 2007 Danny won the Nationals held in Peoria, Illinois. He also placed 3rd nationally last year at the event held in Jasper Indiana. “Danny is a very strong competitor at these national events and we expect he will do well in Texas” states Randy Henson, Coordinator of the NCPTA competition. Danny says “I want to be the first two time national champion; I just have to do it!!!”

Finishing 2nd but not far behind was Ralph Trango (pictured left) from Wake County. Ralph, who won 300.00, is a contestant who shows up almost every year but has been denied a top three placement.  Ralph will represent North Carolina at the “America’s Best Bus Inspector” competition in Texas this September. He will compete in the “diagnostic” competition. The “diagnostic” competition consists of troubleshooting a variety of challenges dealing with correcting defects related to school buses. NC has previously placed in the top three but never a win. Ralph has vast experience in diagnosing school buses and should give NC a great shot at the elusive 1st place spot in this competition.



Tim Speer (pictured right) from Yadkin Co. rounded out the field finishing 3rd. Tim has previously won the state competition as well as a National title in 2008. Tim has entered this event every year since the beginning and will be back again next year. Tim earned 200.00 for his effort at the Asheville competition.



the top three - (L-R) Tim, danny, Ralph

The top 12 in order of finish are;
Danny Reed-Beaufort
Ralph Trango-Wake
Tim Speer-Yadkin
Jason Blackburn-Wilkes
Mark Lail-Rutherford
Doyle Williams-Brunswick
Carl Cox-Washington
Frank Morabito-Brunswick
Larry Bogenwrite-Robeson
Lenny Newton-Durham
Douglas Moose-Iredell
Jose Figueroa-Johnston

The top 12 received a rechargeable 3 watt LED flashlight.


Thanks to all of the competitors who took time to participate and the folks who help make this event a success.

 Also a special thanks goes out to;
-Buncombe Co. schools for providing the buses used in the competition.  
-NCPTA for sponsoring the prizes given at Asheville.
-Cummins Atlantic which is sponsoring a scholarship that will allow Danny & Ralph to attend the 8th annual national event held in San Antonio, Texas September 27-30.



The “best inspection” banners were handed out at the NCPTA opening session in Asheville on June 18th, 2011

Eastern Region-DUPLIN



Congratulations go out to all of the transportation employees for the extra effort it takes to win the banner.










1995 School Bus Safety Web. Site design by ITRE, NC State University in conjunction with the Governor's Highway Safety Program.
All content and works posted on this website are owned by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. All rights reserved.