North Carolina School BusSafety Web
 safetyNC Resourcesvehicleslibrarytrainingmailing listsarchived newscontact safety centerhome
Top 3 Bus Drivers
From left to right: Noah Wolfe (Cherokee) - 3rd place, Billy McKemey (Wake) - 2nd place and Sharon Miller (Davie) - 1st place took top honors in the finals of the state driving competition. Sharon will compete in the National ROADeo in Boston this summer.

9th annual Special Needs ROADeo Winners
The driver/safety assistant team of Matthew Monk and Tonya McNeil from Wake County won the 9th annual Special Needs ROADeo and will represent the state in Little Rock, AR in March, 2008.

2007 ROADeo Showcases State's Top Drivers

It was School Bus Driver Appreciation Week and Sharon Miller won $1000 worth of appreciation! The best drivers in the state came to Raleigh, having placed in the top ten in their district ROADeo, to compete for the title of "Best School Bus Driver in North Carolina." They took a test, went over the rules, and had a feast of barbecue and fried chicken on Wednesday night, and showed up at the State Fairground bright and early Thursday morning.

Forty-eight drivers went through eight driving obstacles including Diminishing Clearance, Backing, Right Turn and Parallel Parking. The top score was 341 points out of a possible 400.

Top Ten finishers:
Davie Miller, Sharon
Wake McKemey, Billy
Cherokee Wolfe, Noah
Buncombe Cooke, Merle
Wake Lanier, Byron
Buncombe Howell, Rick
Union Farson, Bill
Gaston Paulk, Jody
Rowan Huss, Roy
Davidson Bordeaux, Darrell
Top 10 Bus Drivers 2007

The Special Needs ROADeo was held concurrently and featured twelve participants comprising six driver/safety assistant teams. These teams also competed in a driving competition featuring obstacles such as Railroad Crossing and Backing, but also demonstrated their unique skills required for wheelchair loading, student management, etc.

Matthew Monk and Tonya McNeil shared a $600 first place prize.

The top three teams:
1st place - Wake County: Matthew Monk / Tonya McNeil
2nd place - Cleveland County: Carol Goforth / Pat McDonald
3rd place - Cumberland County: Vincent Manley / Debbie Robetille

The ROADeo was sponsored by the NC Pupil Transportation Association, DPI Transportation Services, DPI Exceptional Children Division, DMV School Bus and Traffic Safety and Wake County Schools.










1995 School Bus Safety Web. Site design by ITRE, NC State University in conjunction with the Governor's Highway Safety Program.
All content and works posted on this website are owned by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. All rights reserved.