North Carolina School BusSafety Web
 safetyNC Resourcesvehicleslibrarytrainingmailing listsarchived newscontact safety centerhome

Local Boards honor National School Bus Safety Week Contest Winners, 2007 Contest Announced

In recent memory, only one student has finished “in the money” as a North Carolina participant in the National School Bus Safety Week Poster Contest. Dylan Horne of Rowan County finished 2nd in his division in 2000. This year, TWO North Carolina students placed in the national competition.
In January (2007), local boards of education in adjacent counties honored two students who were top finishers in the 2006 contest. Winners were announced in November at the National Association for Pupil Transportation conference in Kansas City. Kayla Norris, who last year was in 6th grade at Tar Heel Middle School in Bladen County, finished 2nd nationally in the Grades 6-8 Division. She receives a $250 savings bond. Samantha Burchette, who last year was in 2nd grade at District 7 Elementary School in Cumberland County, finished 1st nationally in the Grades K-2 Division. She receives a $500 savings bond.
On January 8, Kayla Norris was honored by the Bladen County Board of Education for her accomplishments. DPI Transportation Section Chief Derek Graham presented a plaque and oversized savings bond to Norris. He also presented a plaque to Courtney Davis who was a 3rd place state winner in the Grades 3-5 Division.
Twenty-four hours later, on January 9, Samantha Hope Burchett was honored by the Cumberland County Board of Education. Cumberland County Schools Executive Director of Transportation Liz McGowan presented Burchett with a plaque and oversized savings bond. She was congratulated personally by each member of the Board of Education.
The theme for the 2007 poster contest is “STOP ON RED – KIDS AHEAD”. Entries in the North Carolina contest must be submitted by May 15, 2007. The state winners will then be entered in the national competition to be held in October.  Details are available at

Liz McGowan, Samantha and her proud family Samantha received congratulations from each Cumberland County School Board Member
Derek Graham (DPI) and Kayla Norris
Derek and Courtney Davis.
Principal Sylvia Wilkins (District 7 Elementary), Samantha, Executive Director of Transportation Liz McGowan











1995 School Bus Safety Web. Site design by ITRE, NC State University in conjunction with the Governor's Highway Safety Program.
All content and works posted on this website are owned by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. All rights reserved.