Rick Jennings accepts the award as the NATION'S BEST SCHOOL BUS
from Don Carnahan of Zonar Systems. Zonar sponsored the award.
Photo courtesy NAPT and JGPhotos.Net

David Johnson, Wilkes County Director, accepts the award for 1st place in the national school bus inspection contest for Rick Jennings. He is pictured with State Superintendent June Atkinson and State Board of Education Chairman Howard Lee.

Tim Speer accepts his award for 2nd
place in the national technician competition from State Superintendent June Atkinson. They are pictured with State Board of Education Chairman Howard Lee and Yadkin County director Dennis Wood.

 The Recognition Continues for North Carolina's top School Bus Inspectors

Rick Jennings and Tim Speer were honored by the North Carolina State Board of Education on September 1st and Rick was honored again as traveled to Austin, Texas accept the honor of America's Best School Bus Inspector. The State Board took time from their very full September agenda to honor these two technicians. Rick was not able to attend due to illness so David Johnson, Wilkes County director, received the award on Rick's behalf. Dennis Wood, Yadkin County director, attended with Tim as he was honored by the State Superintendent and the entire State Board of Education.

Part of the America's Best School Bus Inspector award was an all-expenses-paid trip to the National Association for Pupil Transportation conference and trade show in Austin, Texas. During the awards breakfast on Monday, October 31st, Rick Jennings was presented with the award by Don Carnahan of Zonar Systems (the sponsor of the inspection competition).

Congratulations to these two technicians who have represented our state in an oustanding manner! For more information on these competitions, refer to the previous article.



Pictured at the reception are Tim Speer and a stand-in for Rick Jennings.



A reception was held after the State Board presentations honoring the contest winners. Pictured are Philip Price, Associate State Superintendent, Financial and Business Services; David Johnson, Dennis Wood, Tim Speer, Derek Graham.




Contestants joined in a pre-inspection instruction session prior to North Carolina's school bus inspection contest held at the NCPTA summer conference in Asheville.


Terry Barlow, the 2004 North Carolina Champion School Bus Inspector and 2004 National 3rd Place Finisher, attended the National Association for Pupil Transportation Conference with fellow Wilkes County technician Rick Jennings and was on hand when Rick received the national award.




1995 School Bus Safety Web. Site design by ITRE, NC State University in conjunction with the Governor's Highway Safety Program.
All content and works posted on this website are owned by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. All rights reserved.